SaltyShrimp Deutsche Version bulgarian version
Aquaristic Water Conditioners and Minerals

Minerals and trace elements are vital for shrimp, crayfish, snails and fish, as well as for a functioning biosystem in a tank. A lack or an imbalance may lead to severe problems, manifest in poor plant growth, algae growth, odd behaviour of the tank inhabitants or even losses.

SaltyShrimp mineral salt water conditioners prevent this. These salts have been designed and manufactured especially for the use in a freshwater tank. They improve the water condition and provide your tank inhabitants with all the essential minerals and trace elements via the water, for their health and wellbeing. Moreover, SaltyShrimp mineral products support the activities of the all-important filter bacteria and improve plant growth - for a stable, healthy biosystem in your tank.

Find out more here
re-mineralising, trace elements, vitamines, Chlorides and sulfates

Bee Shrimp Mineral GH+

Specially for keeping and breeding shrimp, aim for a pH of under 7, like Bee, Shrimp, Tiger and Bumble Bee Shrimp...

Can with screw-on lid available in 90g, 230g and 1000g

Sulawesi Mineral Series

According to scientific analysis of water from the Malili Lake System on Sulawesi developed mineral salt, specially produced for Shrimps from Lake Poso, Matano and Towuti (like Caridina dennerli, Caridina spinata and others).

Can with screw-on lid available in 100g, 250g and 1000g

Softwater Mineral GH+

To prepare aquarium water for Fish
from soft water biotopes

Can with screw-on lid available in 90g, 230g and 1000g

Aquarium Mineral GH/KH+

To remineralize and increase the
total and carbonate hardness

Can with screw-on lid available in 85g, 200g and 850g

Shrimp Mineral GH/KH+

To remineralize and increase the
total and carbonate hardness

Can with screw-on lid available in 85g, 200g and 850g

Black Water Powder SE/Fulvin+

Trace elements, Humic and
Fulvic acid for fish and shrimps

Can with screw-on lid available in 50g and 130g

Easy Filter Powder

100% natural filter powder for clean
and crystal clear aquarium water

Can with screw-on lid available in 40g and 100g

Community - Resellers welcome

Some interesting facts about re-mineralisation
and the use of trace elements in re-mineralising salts
The SaltyShrimp team consists of a biologist/agricultural engineer and aquarists/breeders who have been in the hobby for many, many years and who have a heart for their animals and the aquarium hobby in general. We soon realised there is much room to improve in the field of re-mineralising salts, and thus we started producing our own blends. For our recipes we fell back on our experiences and the know-how about biochemical processes in the metabolism of our aquarium inhabitants and the filter bacteria in order to get the best possible results for our breeding tanks. These improvements were so significant that we offered our blends to fellow breeders, and now they are also available in trade.

Animals in natural waters fine-tune their physiology with the water that surrounds them. Aquatic animals do not have an impermeable skin, and their well-being depends directly on their environment, i.e. the water in which they live. They have a certain tolerance against fluctuations, however, this tolerance may be very small. Physiologically speaking, all life depends on the functionality of a complex chain of interlinked chemical reactions. These reactions are often regulated by enzymes, whose functions are controlled by the properties of the internal cellular environment. The internal cellular environment in turn directly depends on its surroundings. If the water composition changes, for example, changes in the cellular metabolism will follow, with a direct influence on cellular functions. This is especially true for metal ions. The right concentration of metal ions is crucial for well-functioning enzymes. However, if these ions are present in the wrong concentration (or if the mixing ratio of different metal ions is wrong), the three-dimensional form of the enzymes is changed or even destroyed. In both cases, their functionality is compromised. It is thus not sufficient if you know which elements are necessary and to add them. The right mixture and dosage are decisive. "More is NOT always better", it may even do grave damage! For example, minute traces of copper are essential for crustaceans and snails, as their breathing pigment hemocyanin is based on this element. However, even a slightly elevated copper level in the surrounding water will lead to a proportional increase in the direct cellular environment of these organisms, which denatures other cellular enzymes, leading to the death of the animal.

Besides a possible overdose there is also the danger that elements with a comparable radius or similar properties are erroneously used as substitutes by the organism. For example, calcium is substituted by strontium, however, this leads to brittle bones or calcareous shells (in aquaria this happens frequently to snail shells). Potassium is substituted by caesium. Caesium is always found as an accompanying ion of potassium in nature, however, this has to be considered an impurity rather than beneficial. An organisms metabolism cannot always differ between caesium and potassium, however, if it uses caesium there may be grave malfunctions. Another example would be cadmium. It is highly toxic as it acts as a strong antagonist of copper and zinc. Anyhow, it is quite frequently found in analyses of synthetic re-mineralising salts. Maybe because this element was found in natural waters, and salt blends were produced according to these analyses. In these cases, however, the physiology of the animals was considered as little as the fact that nowadays, many natural waterbodies are polluted. Many of the elements found in these analyses do not really belong in an aquarium … and on second thought they do not belong in natural waters either. No living being needs even mere traces of cadmium or arsenic, never and nowhere! Many substances are toxic, first and foremost aluminium, one of the most frequently found elements of our planet. It is mainly brought into our natural waters by human actions (anthropogenically), and yet it is found in many synthetic re-mineralising salts. We could enlarge this list by many more trace elements that do not belong in a re-mineralising salt designed for the aquarium hobby, as they have no beneficial biological function whatsoever.

How many trace elements are really essential?
Depending on the criteria according to which you judge the biological value for animals (fish are different from invertebrates), plants, corals or microorganisms, only a maximum of 22 trace elements are needed (or 24, there is no scientific proof that the two additional ones are really essential). The rest are considered to be "impurities". They are substitutes or other substances that may well be used in the organism but are not essential, as we have explained above.

Of course, our products are also based on analyses of natural waterbodies, however, we leave these impurities out and optimise our salts based on what science has found out about the substances the animals and the filter bacteria in our tanks really need. Thus our products enable us to create an environment in our aquaria that is even better than many animals would find it in their natural habitat. This is of some real advantage for the development of e.g. invertebrate larvae.

Chlorides and sulfates
Think twice before you use chlorides and sulfates in your DIY re-mineralising salts. They may dissolve very readily in the water, which is good for the user (the aquarium hobbyist), however, depending on the quantity, they have been suspected to cause problems e.g. for some shrimp. Lake Towuti, for example, from which many of these beautiful Sulawesi shrimp originate, has only very low levels of chlorides and sulfates. Our water analysis has proved that. As a natural consequence, there can be no readily-dissolving re-mineralising salt that can be used to produce water as close to that of Lake Towuti as possible. The high pH created by our Sulawesi Mineral 8,5 is a positive side effect, however, the true knack seems to lie in totally avoiding sulfates and especially chlorides for tanks dedicated to shrimp originating from Lake Towuti. Maybe, after many generations, the offspring will be able to adapt to the presence of chlorides and sulfates, as the shrimp from Lake Matano/Sulawesi have managed already. For them, our readily-dissolving variant Sulawesi Mineral 7,5 is a great alternative.

Vitamins in re-mineralising salts?
Vitamins are essential for fish, shrimp, snails and so on, and they cannot live without them. However, they cannot absorb them from the water, but exclusively from their food. We thus consider the addition of vitamins to re-mineralising salts superfluous. The vitamins our aquarium animals need are present in almost all the usual foodstuffs.

SaltyShrimp english version bulgarian version
Aquaristische Wasseraufbereiter und Mineralsalze


Mineralien und Spurenelemente sind für Garnelen, Krebse, Schnecken und Fische lebensnotwendig und auch für ein funktionierendes Bio-System im Aquarium essentiell. Ein Mangel oder Ungleichgewicht führt oft zu schweren Problemen und dies zeigt sich z.B. in schlechtem Pflanzenwuchs, Algenbildung, bis hin zu auffälligem Verhalten oder gar Verlusten der Aquarien-Bewohner.

Wasseraufbereitende Mineralsalze von SaltyShrimp beugen dem vor, sie sind die Weiterentwicklung in Sachen Remineralisierung, sowie Spurenelementenbedarf und wurden von uns speziell für die Anwendung im Aquarium entwickelt und hergestellt. Sie verbessern die Lebensbedingungen und stellen alle wichtigen Mineralien und Spurenelemente im Wasser bereit, welche die Bewohner für Wohlbefinden und Gesundheit benötigen. Darüber hinaus stärken SaltyShrimp - Mineralprodukte die Aktivität der wichtigen Filterbakterien und verbessern Pflanzenwuchs, für ein gesundes und stabiles Bio-System im Aquarium.


Wissenwerte Informationen zu
Remineralisierung, Spurenelemente, Vitamine, Chloride und Sulfate
(siehe unten)






Bee Shrimp Mineral GH+

Wasseraufbereiter speziell für Weichwasserarten, wie
z.B. Bienen-, Tiger- und Hummelgarnelen...

Als Schraubdose erhältlich in 90g, 230g und 1000g





Sulawesi Mineral Serie

Nach wissenschaftlichen Wasseranalysen aus dem Maliliseen-System auf Sulawesi entwickeltes Mineralsalz, welches speziell für Garnelen aus dem Poso-, Matano- und Towutisee hergestellt wurde (z.B. Caridina dennerli, Caridina spinata u.a.).

Als Schraubdose erhältlich in 100g, 250g und 1000g


Softwater Mineral GH+

Zur Herstellung von Aquarienwasser für Fische
aus Weichwasserbiotopen

Als Schraubdose erhältlich in 90g, 230g und 1000g


Aquarium Mineral GH/KH+

Zur Remineralisierung und Anhebung der Gesamt-
und Karbonathärte speziell für Fische

Als Schraubdose erhältlich in 85g, 200g und 850g


Shrimp Mineral GH/KH+

Zur Remineralisierung und Anhebung der
Gesamt- und Karbonathärte speziell für Garnelen

Als Schraubdose erhältlich in 85g, 200g und 850g
 


Black Water Powder SE/Fulvin+

Spurenelemente, Humin- und Fulvinsäuren
für Fische und Garnelen

Als Schraubdose erhältlich in 50g und 130g


Easy Filter Powder

100% natürliches Filterpulver für sauberes und
kristallklares Aquarienwasser

Als Schraubdose erhältlich in 40g und 100g




Forum - www.wirbellotse.de Händleranfragen erwünscht





Wissenswertes zur Remineralisierung und
Verwendung von Spurenelementen in Aufhärtesalzen
Wir von SaltyShrimp sind ein Team aus Dipl. Biologe/Dipl. Agraringenieur und langjährigen Aquarianern/Züchtern mit viel Leidenschaft für die Aquaristik und so fiel uns schnell auf, dass es in dem Bereich Wasseraufbereitung einiges zu verbessern gibt. Also machten wir uns daran eigene Aufhärtesalze herzustellen und nutzten dafür unsere Erfahrungen und das KnowHow über biochemische Abläufe (Stoffwechsel) im Körper der Aquarienbewohner und Filterbakterien, um in unseren Zuchtanlagen die bestmöglichen Ergebnisse zu erreichen. Die Verbesserungen waren so signifikant, dass wir die Produkte anderen Züchtern anboten und sie nun auch im Handel erhältlich sind.

Bei Tieren in Gewässern erfolgt eine natürliche Feinabstimmung der Physiologie mit dem umgebenden Wasser. Wasserbewohner haben keine wasserdichte Haut und ihr Wohlbefinden steht direkt im Zusammenhang mit dem Wasser, in dem sie leben. Zwar gibt es Toleranzen, aber diese sind oft sehr gering. Physiologisch ist alles Leben abhängig von der Funktionsfähigkeit einer komplexen Reihe von miteinander gekoppelten chemischen Reaktionen. Diese Reaktionen unterliegen oft der Regulierung durch Enzyme, deren Funktionen durch die Eigenschaften der inneren Zellumgebung gesteuert werden. Die interne zelluläre Umgebung hängt aber direkt von dem umgebenden Milieu ab. Veränderungen in der Zusammensetzung im Wasser verantworten auch Veränderungen im Zellstoffwechsel, Sie haben direkten Einfluss auf Zellfunktionen. Dieses gilt insbesondere für Metallionen. Metallionen in der richtigen Konzentration sind wichtig für die Funktion von Enzymen. Die falsche Konzentration oder die falsche Mischung verschiedener Metallionen kann die dreidimensionale Form von Enzymen in ihrer Funktionalität verändern oder gar zerstören. Allein die Kenntnis über notwendige Elemente und dessen Zugabe reicht also nicht. Die richtige Zusammenstellung und Dosierung sind entscheidend. "Viel hilft NICHT viel" und kann sogar eher Schaden anrichten. Beispielsweise sind bei Krebstieren und Schnecken sehr geringe Mengen an Kupfer absolut notwendig für die korrekte Funktion des Atmungspigments Hämocyanin. Allerdings führt bereits eine leichte Erhöhung im Umgebungswasser bei den gleichen Organismen zu einer proportionalen Zunahme im inneren Zellmilieu, woraus eine Denaturierung von anderen zellulären Enzymen resultiert, was die Tiere tötet.

Neben einer möglichen Überdosierung besteht ausserdem die Gefahr, dass Elemente mit ähnlichem Radius oder vergleichbaren Eigenschaften von den Organismen fälschlich als Substitute (Ersatz) verwendet werden. So wird Strontium als Substitut von Calcium verwendet, welches aber zur Brüchigkeit von Knochen oder Kalkskeletten führt (In den Aquarien besonders auch die Schneckengehäuse). Oder Cäsium findet Verwendung statt Kalium, weil Cäsium immer zu einem Anteil als Begleition neben Kalium natürlich auftritt, aber als Verunreinigung angesehen werden muss. Der Stoffwechsel kann nicht immer unterscheiden, ob nun Cäsium oder Kalium vorliegt, nur dass Cäsium zu einer Fehlfunktion führen kann. Als weiteres Beispiel nehmen wir Cadmium. Cadmium ist aufgrund seiner zink- und kupferantagonistischen Wirkung sehr toxisch. Dennoch findet man es nicht selten in den Analysen von synthetischen Aufhärtesalzen. Eventuell weil man es in natürlichem Gewässer vorgefunden hat und Salzmischungen nach Wasseranalysen produziert wurden, ohne allerdings die Physiologie der Tiere zu bedenken und dass heute viele Gewässer verunreinigt sind. Viele Stoffe aus solchen Analysen gehören nicht in ein Aquarium ...und eigentlich auch nicht in ein natürliches Gewässer. Kein Lebewesen benötigt irgendwo oder irgendwann auch nur eine Spur von Cadmium oder Arsen, etc.. Viele Stoffe sind toxisch (giftig), allen voran das Aluminium, eines der häufigsten Elemente auf unserer Erde, das überwiegend anthropogen (durch den Menschen) in die Gewässer gelangt ist und sich in vielen synthetischen Aufhärtesalzen wiederfindet. Man könnte die Liste mit weiteren Spurenelementen fortführen, die nicht in ein Aufhärtesalz für Aquaristik gehören, da sie biologisch keine Bedeutung haben.





Wie viele Spurenelemente werden benötigt?
Je nach Betrachtung der Spurenelemente die eine biologische Bedeutung für Tiere (Fische anders als niedere Tiere), Pflanzen, Korallen oder die Mikrobiologie haben, werden nur maximal 22 Spurenelemente benötigt (Evtl. 24, für 2 wurde ein wissenschaftlicher Nachweis bisher noch nicht erbracht). Der Rest wird als "Verunreinigung" bezeichnet. Es handelt sich um Substitute oder andere Stoffe, die zwar im Organismus eingebaut werden, aber nicht notwendig sind, wie oben beschrieben.

Für unsere Produkte nutzen wir auch Wasseranalysen aus natürlichen Gewässern, verwenden diese als Basis, lassen entsprechende Verunreinigungen weg und optimieren es auf Grundlage wissenschaftlicher Fakten nach Bedarf der Tiere sowie Filterbakterien. Somit können wir mit unseren Produkten sogar ein besseres Milieu im Aquarium schaffen, als es viele Tiere in ihrem natürlichen Habitat vorfinden. Sehr vorteilhaft z.B. für wirbellose Larvenstadien.





Chloride und Sulfate
Die Verwendung von Chloriden und Sulfaten sollte mit Bedacht gewählt werden. Sie sorgen zwar für eine leichte Löslichkeit der Aufhärtesalze, was dem Anwender (Aquarianer) natürlich entgegen kommt, aber sie stehen je nach Menge in Verdacht z.B. bei Garnelen für Probleme verantwortlich zu sein. Der Towutisee, aus dem die wunderschönen Sulawesigarnelen kommen, hat z.B. sehr wenige Chloride und Sulfate. Dies hat unsere Wasseranalyse gezeigt. Somit kann es kein leichtlösliches Aufhärtesalz geben mit dem man Wasser naturnah herstellen kann. Der durch unser Sulawesi Mineral 8,5 entstehende hohe pH-Wert ist ein positiver Nebeneffekt, aber vor Allem der Verzicht von Sulfaten und besonders von Chloriden scheint für Towutisee-Garnelen unverzichtbar zu sein. Evtl. können sich nach vielen Generationen die Nachkommen an Chloride und Sulfate anpassen, wie es offenbar schon die Tiere aus dem Matanosee auf Sulawesi konnten. Daher stellt unsere leicht lösliche Variante Sulawesi Mineral 7,5 eine gute Alternative dar.





Vitamine in Aufhärtesalzen?
Vitamine sind essenziell und somit auch für Fische, Garnelen, Schnecken, etc. lebensnotwendig. Die Tiere haben aber keine Möglichkeit Vitamine aus dem Wasser aufzunehmen. Sie können Vitamine ausschließlich mit der Nahrung aufnehmen. Eine Vitaminzugabe in Aufhärtesalzen halten wir daher für überflüssig. Ausreichend Vitamine sind bereits in nahezu allen üblichen Futtermitteln vorhanden.